Mark J. Scheiwer, executive vice president, chief financial officer and chief accounting officer of Scotts Miracle-Gro Co. (SMG), received a phantom stock award valued at approximately $750, according to an SEC Form 4 report published Sept. 30, 2026.

The reported transaction occurred Sept. 28, 2026. The supplied SEC summary identifies 14.92 phantom stock units at a reported price of $50.27 per share and classifies the transaction as an award or grant.

What the SEC report records

The reported quantity and price produce a value of $750.03 when multiplied, consistent with the summary’s rounded $750 figure. That calculation describes the award’s reported value; it does not establish that Scheiwer paid that amount or received cash on the transaction date.

The summary also indicates that the transaction was not under a Rule 10b5-1 plan. It provides no further explanation of that designation or of the arrangements governing this particular award.

Sept. 30 is the publication date supplied for the filing report, while Sept. 28 is the transaction date. The supplied material does not separately establish the precise submission time of the underlying Form 4.

What the award does—and does not—show

The transaction is identified as a grant of phantom stock. It should therefore not be described as an open-market purchase of SMG common shares. The supplied summary does not specify vesting conditions, settlement terms or whether the award will ultimately be paid in cash or shares.

It also does not state Scheiwer’s total holdings after the transaction or provide a broader account of his compensation.

Analysis: The disclosure offers a narrow view of an executive award. By itself, it does not establish a view on SMG’s valuation, company performance or future share-price direction.

What to watch

The underlying Form 4 and any accompanying award disclosures would be the relevant records to check for settlement provisions, vesting requirements and post-transaction holdings. Those details are absent from the supplied summary.